If only file recovery were as easy as flipping through an old file cabinet… alas, the move to paperless has changed that reality. While in many ways, we can be forever grateful we don’t have to store pounds and pounds of paper, the reality is that when you need to recover something from someone else’s file cabinet in the cloud, the process can be a bit tricker.
If you have a terminated employee, how do you easily recover and transfer their files from OneDrive?
After a termination, OneDrive should automatically make the listed manager on the account the Admin and give them access to the terminated employee’s OneDrive account. If you delete the user’s account (rather than just remove a user’s license), content will be permanently deleted after 30 days. If you just remove a license, however, you will still be able to access their content in OneDrive even after 30 days.
If you already deleted a user’s account, fear not. You can still restore it within 30 days of deleting it by following these steps
Once you’ve accessed a terminated employee’s OneDrive account, you may want to permanently move those files out of their existing account and into your OneDrive or a shared location. You can do so from the admin center.
- In the admin center, go to active users and select the specific user you want to access.
- From there, click Settings and then Access files.
- You can copy the selected files to your own OneDrive account or a shared location. You can also sync the files and then upload them to your OneDrive account.
For help with file recovery or any of your Mac technology concerns, our team at Honeycrisp is here to help. Contact us today to learn more.